Mini Rosette Birthday Cake

I love that buttercream is making a comeback.  Thanks to my favorite 6-inch cake pans, I’ve been churning out adorable mini birthday cakes with retro buttercream rosettes in colors like mint green and pale primrose pink.  For these cakes I’ve been using a sturdy genoise cake and filling it with rings of jam, fresh fruit, and buttercream.  Swoon!

My 6-inch aluminum cake pan is probably my favorite baking tool at the moment.  I bought mine at walmart for about $7 each.  So far, it’s the best $7 I ever spent.  They make the cutest little cakes!  It’s like someone shrunk a full sized bakery cake into a wee cake that fits perfectly into two hands.  Feeding between 4-6 people, the 6-inch cake is great for a small gathering or a gift.  And the best part, no leftovers!

IMG_7707

IMG_7710

IMG_7713

IMG_7725

IMG_7846

Leave a Reply

