Lemon & Berry Springtime Cake

Culinary school has been keeping me very busy lately. Even though I’ve been cooking and baking during what little free time I’ve had (in order to keep my sanity), I haven’t had a chance to blog.   In class we are so busy producing desserts for actual service, have many assignments and tests, and most recently we have had the dreaded midterm hovering over our heads.  The task for our midterm — create a multi layered cake with at least 6 different components with flavor profiles that work together and to create a modern showpiece to go on top of it.

Needless to say I have been stressing out about it since I first heard of the assignment.  But thanks to careful planning and many revisions of my original design, I am very happy with the results.

Introducing, my Lemon & Berry Springtime Cake!  This fresh and light cake consists of a base layer of cinnamon-y Linzer dough, a sponge cake-like layer of madeline brushed with a simple syrup of orange liquor, a layer of hazelnut and almond meringue, passionfruit mousse, mixed berry mousse, lemon chiffon cheesecake, and a top layer of strawberry glaze. 🙂

IMG_7082

Leave a Reply

