Summer Time

My summer is coming to an end and boy was it eventful!  Too eventful to even blog much at all, but here is a quick recap of some of my summer-time culinary highlights:

  1. My friend and I started our own jam business!  We make our jams in small batches using local, all-natural, and organic ingredients doing our best to make these jams both tasty and healthful.  So far, my favorite jam creations are our Ghost Pepper Jelly, Ginger-Whiskey Marmalade, and Pineapple-Rum Jam. Serious noms!  Can you guess what everyone is getting for Christmas???
  2. I worked at a cute pop-up restaurant with a talented friend who made some seriously tasty dishes and even got to present some of my own dishes!  It was a blast!
  3. I got a Kitchenaid mixer.  Woot!  Life goal, complete.
  4. I got the ice cream attachment for my Kitchenaid!!  So far my favorite creation was making a vanilla-rum ice cream and then swirling our Pineapple-Rum Jam into it.  It’s a boozy party in your mouth.  Any weight my family and boyfriend have gained is the result of my ice cream making hobby. (sorry, everyone)
  5. I’ve developed yet a new hobby/obsession and it’s gardening  Who knew I’d become so domestic?  I guess that is what approaching your 30s is like.  See here. 
  6. Even at the risk of sounding completely boring, seed saving and sharing was another garden related hobby I discovered this summer.  Seeds are actually really fascinating and sharing plants/seeds with friends especially fun and rewarding.  New life goal, collect as many tomato seeds as I can since they are my fave!

photo-1

194057_529222687127077_485860162_o

photo

garden

photo-3

5 thoughts on “Summer Time

  1. Share more seeds! 🙂 We will share seeds with you 🙂 Btw, I’m guilty of 20 of 30 things…its so amazingly accurate lol..sorry for blowing up your feed with Niven pics!

  2. I didn’t give a crap about gardening either until I moved into my new house.

    Yay for the KitchenAid mixer! I’ve had mine for years and I love it. I love the color you picked. And I’ve wanted the ice cream maker attachment for years, but never got around to buying it!

    1. I know. It’s like some gardening instinct kicks in at a certain age, lol.

      And you should totally get the ice cream attachment! Well, if you have the freezer space cause it’s gotta stay in there. I got mine at Target for about $80. And it’s so much fun and surprisingly easy!! And oh the flavor possibilities!!

      1. I totally have the freezer space. I just never got around to buying it. I can’t help but imagine you coming up with not only jams, but ice cream toppings as well!!!

Leave a Reply

