Sunday Bakes: Peppermint Brownies

photo(7)

So my poor sister had to work through the Christmas holiday.  She is a nurse on a surgical recovery floor of a hospital, bless her heart!  So to bring her some holiday cheer I made her Peppermint Bark Brownies for her and her staff.  It was my second time making it and it came out great!  Homemade brownies is so much better than that wretched box stuff that requires you to add vegetable oil.  The horror!  To think that I used to think that stuff was good.

I know it seems so much easier, and cheaper frankly, to buy the box stuff because I just made a batch of the boxed stuff for my co-workers since I was too busy (lazy) to make it from scratch… but I did add on a layer of peppermint icing and chocolate ganache to, you know, make it look homemade.  But its really not that much harder to mix together some flour, sugar, cocoa powder, salt, and baking powder yourself and it’s totally worth it.

This is actually one of the recipes I made right before I got sick with the stomach flu.  Gosh, I hope I didn’t make any of the nurses sick.  Can you imagine?!  A whole floor of nurses sick and battling for the two bathrooms on the floor… :- /

Sorry, didn’t mean to make you think about poop.  But still, recipe is great!  Promise.  Especially when prepared by a non-contaminated person.  For this Peppermint Bark Brownie recipe check out my recipe blog here!

One thought on “Sunday Bakes: Peppermint Brownies

Leave a Reply

